Beautiful Next Time

Everything will be…

Our Young People December 30, 2006

Filed under: children,help,life,reality,thoughts,Uncategorized,youth — beautifulnexttime @ 7:33 pm

Boy, where to begin?

I’ve just had a convo with a young friend of mine, and it has really broken my heart. I have a lot of young friends, each of them often confide in me, but this time is has really hit me.
On the subject of New Years Resolutions, my young friend, we will call her “7”, told me that she’s “got to stop doing naughty things”. After quizzing her for a little, she confessed drinking, smoking, and drug abuse.
I must admit to trying to smoke at the age of 11, and then after a burning chest and coughing fits, I knew it wasn’t for me. I will have a glass of wine rarely on special occasions, but I don’t like feeling like I am not in control of my mind, so it’s not something I choose to do regularly… but I have never, and will never take drugs.
       Obviously, I know that some young people experiment, but 7 revealed to me that she does it to escape.

How can such a young life be in so much distress, and have no one to turn to? Bless her. It really has broken my heart. Instead of supporting her, her mother threw her out.

How can we turn our backs on our young people?!
And the ones that we consider “bad breeds”, ”juvanile delinquents”, “yobs”, ”thugs”… whatever it maybe, and that we turn our backs on, are the ones we should be there for the most! Without guidance, what are they supposed to think? That we hate them, and then go on to grow up angry with the world. And we wonder how such sweet children can turn out so bad. It sickens me to my soul.

How about… be there for your children! At least, be there for them, even if not your own – don’t judge them, don’t scold them, don’t persecute them so that there is no way they can feel they can come to you. Just listen, and support them with an open mind! And then offer your support even if you cannot offer your opinion on the situation.
Even the coldest, and most heartless seeming children still have hearts, feelings and emotions.

There are far too many people out there who are happy to shut them out in the cold. This is the generation that will one day be running the world. Bare that in mind.
     I have always been there for my young friends, and that will never change; but now, I don’t want to be there for just them…I want to, and am going to, be there for many more now.

I hope that more people will open their eyes to this ignorance, and make a conscious effort to change the errors of their ways, and be a part of the solution as opposed to a part of the problem.  

 

3 Responses to “Our Young People”

  1. angel16 Says:

    Hey hun its 7, very heart breaking but true its about the way we are brought up and how we take issues. How i have impacted on your life hun and how u show u care really has made a soft spot in my heart. I was heartbroken wen i had to leave i thought i was such a villian. My neice and 2 nephews will have me to talk to and guide them through everything. Noone is perfect and we all make mistakes ok i have done some things i regret but my mother forgot it was me who saved her life and i did and to think that when she passes i will have to look her in the eye and to think of what maybe that she wasnt the mother i thought you were. But i know one thing i can wash away and start again and babygirl i wil proove to you that i can start again and make my life what it should be thank you so much, and people who are gettin into drink underage sex drugs stop and think what is it all for dont do it just say no and it will make you a happy healthier person im 15 and i started wen i was 9 and they have been the most terrible years of my life so from the new year im turnin the leaf over. take care byexxx

  2. Hi Says:

    I just wanted to say that there should never be any regrets in life. Any at all. Because with these small blinks of an eye, they lead to something wonderful later on. This is what makes the journey of life worth living. Everyone makes mistakes, with this we learn and do better next time. You can always “do over” if time allows. One thing i remember…………..a while ago there was a commercial for a military branch. (can’t remember which one) it said………if God asked you to write a book about your life, would anyone read it?

  3. I totally agree, that you shouldn’t really regret, as regret is something that breeds anger and bitterness…but regrets are something that I, and many people have, an cannot change. Yes, we can learn from them, and look back and think how much we’ve grown from those experiences…growth builds character.
    But it would seem that the point of my post has gone over the heads of everyone…slightly disappointing, but never the less…


Leave a comment